Realistic firearm and combative training for both Concealed Pistol Licensed (CPL) and Non-CPL holders, Law Enforcement, and Security Personnel.
J.P. Porcalla   * * *   (248) 794-3611   * * *   JP@focusguntraining.com
Frequently Asked Questions
  • Q:
  • How do I register for any of your classes?
  • A:
  • Email me or call me with your name and the date you want to attend and I will add you to the student roster. I will then email you a confirmation and reminders.
  • Q:
  • How do I pay for the class?
  • A:
  • You can pay by cash, check or credit card when you come in the class. You can use credit cards to pre-pay for the class. Gift Certificates are also available.
  • Q:
  • Does your course meet the Michigan requirements to obtain my CCW/CPL license?
  • A:
  • Yes, our course complies with the State of Michigan requirement under Section 5J of 1927 Public Act 372.
  • Q:
  • I already have my CPL license and would like to brush up on my shooting fundamentals and changes in the law. Do you offer such a class?
  • A:
  • Yes, we do. We have Refresher/Familiarization classes designed to do just that. Keep yourself updated, informed, knowledgeable and prepared.
  • Q:
  • Once I have my Michigan CCW/CPL license, can I travel to other States with my gun on me?
  • A:
  • Yes you can. Other States have "reciprocity" agreement with Michigan. However, some States don't. Go to www.usacarry.com to find out and check each individual State's requirements.
  • Q:
  • What if I don't currently own a handgun, can I still attend your CCW/CPL class or tactical classes?
  • A:
  • Yes, we provide the use of handguns for FREE. We carry different kinds like: Glocks, Beretta, Sig, H&K, Springfield Armory, Smith & Wesson, Taurus, Bersa, etc.
  • Q:
  • How long are the classes?
  • A:
  • CCW/CPL classes are one day classes, usually between 8-9 hours. Each Tactical classes (Level 1 and Level 2) are four hours long. Refresher/Familiarization classes are two-hours.
  • Q:
  • Do I have to have prior shooting experience to attend your CCW/CPL class or tactical class?
  • A:
  • No. We have taught lots of people how to shoot properly in our classes...from our Basic Pistol Course, CCW/CPL classes to our Tactical Courses.
  • Q:
  • My friend owns handguns, he said I can borrow one when I attend a CCW/CPL or tactical class?
  • A:
  • Unless he transports it himself and/or is attending the class with you then you can use it. Under Michigan Law, you cannot legally transport a handgun that is not registered to you without a valid CPL license under MCL 28.432. Also, we provide the use of a handgun for FREE in our CCW/CPL classes.
  • Q:
  • How should I dress up when attending your CCW/CPL or tactical class?
  • A:
  • Regular street and work clothes are fine. We recommend shoes and high neckline shirts to prevent hot shell casings from getting in your shirt.
  • Q:
  • How long does my CCW/CPL license last once I received it?
  • A:
  • Depends on your license issue date and when your birthday falls in the calendar year. Usually, your license is valid for a minimum of 4 years and a maximum of 5 years.
  • Q:
  • How do I apply for my Concealed Pistol license after completing your class?
  • A:
  • In the class, we cover the application process in detail. Rest assured you will know what to do after the class.
  • Q:
  • I want to be proficient with my gun. Do you offer other training?
  • A:
  • Yes we do. We offer our Concealed Carry Tactical Training Level 1 and Level 2. We also offer Private Individualized training.
  • Q:
  • What is the age requirement to attend your CCW/CPL class or tactical class?
  • A:
  • 21 years of age is the age requirement to apply for the CCW/CPL with the state of Michigan. 18 years of age to attend any tactical class.
Content © Copyright - Focus First Firearm Training, LLC - All Rights Reserved.
Design By - © Figaro, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.